When your gear preferences change

Bobby T

Out Of Nowhere
I've been a (D)SLR/prime shooter nearly all of my my life. A few exceptions came when I started shooting digital. I had the Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 and Sigma 100-300 f4 for a short time. And I had a Sigma 10-20 in a kit with a Sigma 30mm 1.3 and Canon 85mm 1.8 for years. Until I moved to full frame. Then primes only till Fuji. Which I had the 18-55/55-200 for a short stretch. But those Fuji primes are so magical.

At some point when I was doing heavy comic con coverage, a good friend suggested I move to zooms because it would make my work a lot easier. So out went my beloved primes for the Fuji 16-55 2.8/50-140 2.8 pair. I discovered A, that Fuji made a pair of zooms equal in all ways except aperture to their primes. And B, my friend was right about them being much easier for the work.

At some point in this time frame, I decided to go from the mighty X-T1 to the also mighty, X-Pro2. Shortly after I thought that, while I had two of the best zooms ever made, I was not getting along with them as my photos did not look as good as they should have. So I ran back into the arms of my beloved primes. Only to find out soon after, that the problem was not me. What had happened was that Capture One, for some unknown reason, just did not work well with the X-Pro2 files. Yielding less than stellar results.

So, back to the zooms I went. And shot very happily with them. Until I hit a point where I did not want to do any working shoots. Just photos of the family, and whatever interested me. So I grabbed the Fujicrons, which are great lenses. In the last few weeks, I have hit a point where I am ready to do working shoots. So I used my one superpower, being an elite gear whore, to sell the Fujicrons for more than enough to get a mint condition 16-55 2.8. I don't know that I will need anything longer for the types of shoots I will be doing. Which is good since the wallet isn't ready for that level of commitment.