The truth behind British politeness

With the greatest respect, Bill, you have now wrecked any possibility of any UK members of the forum passing comment on anything without being found out ...

British Employer's Reference speak ...

"You will be very lucky to have this young man (lady) work for you. "

It would be fair to say that I talk for a living. I recognised so much of myself in this it isn't funny... :rolleyes:

There are many I could add, both observed and used, but I shall restrict myself to the following:

"To be honest"= I'm lying through my teeth

"That's delicious, you must give me the recipe" = ...so I know how to avoid making the same ghastly culinary mistake

"I'll call you later" = enjoy the rest of your life

"Sorry I'm a little late" = how dare you start without me

"I beg your pardon" = I can't believe you have just been so stupid as to say that

"I'm not technical" = I have a degree in astrophysics but I'm not going to let on

"Who's your tailor?" = the man should be shot

"I'm really glad you asked that" = bollocks, you've spotted the weak point in my argument

"See you soon, I hope" = enjoy the rest of your life

and finally:

"Did you have a nice holiday?" = what disaster befell you on your travels that I can have a good laugh at?

See? It's really quite simple.

A special note to our friends in the US - the worst thing you can do to an Englishman of a certain type is to exhort him to "have a nice day" - it comes across as dripping with special-recipe insincerity. ;) A recent development here has been for waiters to ask "what are you doing with the rest of your day/evening?" to fill the silence while your credit card details are communicated via bluetooth and modem to the card issuer. I have taken to responding "Well, we need to buy a goat to sacrifice tonight - any suggestions?" or "We're off to scatter my aunt's ashes at the local swimming baths".

All part of life's rich pattern ;)