Leica The difference...

BruPri

Top Veteran
Name
Bruce J. Pritchard
I have owned most every camera there is (at least to my wife it seems that way) Nikon, Canon, Olympus, Sony, Fuji, Contax, and Leica.
Now, I'm a hack when it comes to photography, I do it for enjoyment and I'm also a tech guy with a penchant for the latest of anything. Of all the cameras I've owned, only two products that capture images have given me an indescribable emotional connection to the picture I've taken, one is the Olympus E-P1, the other is the Leica X1. There is just something right about the rendering that the mind can forget it's a digital picture and I am placed at that moment and time just looking into the image. This is one of the reasons I believe, that I've never had a NEX camera for more that a month. They produce images all right and impressive at a pixel peeping level, but there's something about the rendering that is to me, flat and not how my eye saw the original inspiring photo moment. It's like the foreground and background are competing for space and detail. I digress.
I recently purchased a used M9 and wanted to register with Leica, the previous owner was still registered so I contacted Leica, within a day, I received an email from Ansgar Wehnge informing me that he would contact the previous owner and request de-registration from them. The next day he let me know that I could now register my camera.

Not a big deal, it's just that Customer service is something I value highly, I just wanted the service and support contacts and any history on my camera as I move forward.
That, was great customer service, never would have seen that from ANY of the previous manufacturers of devices I've owned, especially Sony (experience)

If somebody asked me a year ago, what do I shoot? I would never have thought I would have the camera I have, not only from a cost standpoint but a range finder to boot!