Sony Sony RX1 as main camera?

kelpers1483

Hey all - I just got my RX1 recently, and I'm curious if anyone else here uses it as their main camera for their professional work? If so, what do you do? I do street photography and landscapes mostly, and it's been a joy to bring this small powerhouse with me everywhere.

Here are some of my first shots from the RX1.

Attachments

• train.jpg
    train.jpg
    423.8 KB · Views: 303
  • DSC03494.jpg
    DSC03494.jpg
    275.1 KB · Views: 265
I've had mine for quite a while and have no plans to get rid of it:). It still has the wow factor above any other camera I have but I'm no pro so can't answer your question! Looking forward to seeing more of your photos though. Love that first one.

I had one for a couple of years and loved it. If you're ok with just that focal length and like the controls enough, it could definitely be an only camera or main camera. I personally like a wider angle more - it it had been something like a 24-28mm I might have been able to make do with it. There are also a couple of controls I've come to absolutely love on other cameras that Sony hasn't seen fit to adopt yet (shutter speed control in auto-ISO being a big one for me). So for me, I eventually sold it and bought a similarly awesome Zeiss 35 f2.0 for my Nikon Df. But I more often shoot with a Zeiss 25mm and 21mm, so the 35mm is there for some use, but not primary use.

But the RX1 was my only full frame camera for a long time and it started me on the road to full frame - it WAS my primary rig for quite a while, if not quite my ONLY. I did a lot of landscapes, and some street shooting that I was very happy with from it. If it was just a little more specifically to my liking in a couple of ways, it could definitely have remained my primary carry.

Enjoy yours - looking forward to seeing more of your shooting...

And welcome to the forum!

-Ray