Professional Photography With Compact Cameras

At the risk of blowing my own horn . . .

I use compact cameras professionally. As a fulltime freelance writer, I use compact cameras to shoot pictures to illustrate my stories.

If you follow this link -- Shooting Sports USA - October 2012 - 18 -- all of the pictures for this story (and the next one, if you keep clicking forward) were taken with a Panasonic FZ150. Over the past dozen years, I have had literally hundreds of pictures published in magazines and on the web (for pay), including many taken with a 3-megapixel Olympus D-550.

The point is that compact cameras are plenty good enough for magazine and web work. As I have said elsewhere on this forum: " I realize that I give up a great deal in sensor performance compared to cameras with larger sensors, but with the kind of photography that I 'commit,' the convenience of a long-range all-in-one package more than makes up for it."

There are many photographers on this forum who use a variety of cameras to take far better pictures than I do. But for my work, compacts are good enough to get the job done.

Cheers, Jock

Tangentially related, but I saw a video the other day of a Maxim magazine shoot from behind the scenes, and the photographer was shooting with 2 Canon G1Xs with one in each hand. I think he was using optical slave flashes and switching cameras in between shots so he didn't have to wait for the on-board flash to recycle, or maybe he just had them at different zoom settings.

Anyway, it just struck me as funny that no one probably has any idea that shots in a magazine published worldwide are being done with a fixed lens compact zoom camera. Meanwhile photographers (myself included for sure) sit around worrying about megapixels and lenses and resolution and print sizes ad nauseam. Sure it's a print magazine so resolution is not a huge concern, but that's kind of the point - for many applications compact cameras are more than sufficient.