"no such thing as pro photographers"

entropic remnants

Hall of Famer
Name
John Griggs
Now, I'm not a pro photographer, but consider this statement by the Yahoo CEO as quoted by Thom Hogan on his site:

CEO Marissa Mayer, in announcing the changes said "There's no such thing as Flickr Pro today because...there's really no such thing as professional photographers anymore."

Do you think Marissa has a clue about the real world? There are NO pro photographers any more? I personally know several so what universe is flickr living in?

MAYBE she might be right about there won't be any using their service, if any even are now.

Do you think Marissa has a clue about the real world? There are NO pro photographers any more? I personally know several so what universe is flickr living in?

She made an unlucky statement which is being quoted completely out of context again and again all over the internet. That's just one more example how easy it is to become the target of hate and stupidity in the internet.

well, it wouldn't surprise me one bit if we found out that her "quote taken out of context" was entirely orchestrated so that flickr would get tons of free ink about their new 1TB of free storage. Because really the old adage is true.....even bad publicity is still publicity. How many people will read about her statement and think, "boy, she really put her foot in her mouth" and then followed shortly after by "wow...... a whole Terabyte.....for free!"

She made an unlucky statement which is being quoted completely out of context again and again all over the internet. That's just one more example how easy it is to become the target of hate and stupidity in the internet.

Oh so? Thom's not so susceptible to such things. Please provide a link to "context". That's a pretty clear statement she made.

Unlucky? I think you have used the words "unlucky" and "stupid" completely backwards, lol! :D The stuipidity appears to be entirely hers -- do you have stock in Yahoo?...