Leica Leica M lens quality control disappointment

budjames

Rookie
I satisfied a lifelong desire to own a Leica M camera by purchasing an new M10 a month ago. With the camera, I purchased the Summilux 50mm f1.4 and Summicron 35mm f2 lenses.

I shot Canon SLRs and Pro DSLRs for 40 years before switching to Fuji X cameras and Fuji lenses about four years ago. The recent Leica purchase was a "bucket list" decision.

As I started shooting with my new Leica, I realized that the image quality was hit or miss and disappointing compared to the excellent IQ of the Fuji cameras.

I took my new camera and lenses to the Leica repair facility in north New Jersey yesterday. The technicians checked out the body and lenses. The body was fine, but both lenses were out of calibration and creating the random IQ results. I had to leave both lenses with them for recalibration. The bummer was that with their work load, the lenses would not be done until after the Christmas holiday. It will probably be a month before I get them back.

It was good news that the problem was not me, but the lenses. However, I'm bummed that I just spent over $13,000 on my first Leica and two lenses and could not consistently produce acceptable images. So much for the legendary Leica quality.

Has anyone else had such a terrible experience with recent lenses purchases? Just curious.

Regards,
Bud James

www.budjames.photography