Leica Jupiter 8 with 18 aperture blades?!

Themontyburns

Evening folks,

Newbie here so go easy...

Just picked up a Chrome 50's Jupiter 8 with 18 aperture blades on Ebay for £60. I cannot find a thing about this type anywhere on the Internet.

Any ideas? Opinions? How do you think the quality of image will differ?

Attachments

• Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-27.png
    Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-27.png
    94.7 KB · Views: 147
  • Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-44.png
    Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-44.png
    91.9 KB · Views: 80
  • Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-33.png
    Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-33.png
    77.9 KB · Views: 74
  • Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-31.png
    Screenshot_2017-04-10-17-02-31.png
    84.5 KB · Views: 71
I have a 1956 Jupiter-8 which has 9 blades and the focussing tab. I had a quick look in Pricelle's - The Authentic Guide to Russian and Soviets cameras but couldn't find an obvious mention of an 18 blade version of the J-8. The only mention I could find on the net referred to a 16 blade Jupiter-9/85. I wonder if you have a rare lens.

As far as effect on the image I would expect the 16 blades to give a different bokeh to the 9 blades.

I've never seen a Sonnar (or J-8) with 18 blades: twice the normal number. I suspect this lens was experimentation and assembly practice for Zeiss parts coming into Russia. Somebody decided to really supe things up on this one!

The focus mount is from 1955 through 1960 or so: the earlier tabbed J-8 mounts did not use the three screws for the rear.