I would like to improve my compositional skills, suggestions for educational resources wanted

Jock Elliott

Hall of Famer
I was looking at some street photography the other and lamenting that, while it was technically very good, the composition wasn't very compelling.

Then the thought occurred to me that my own compositional skills could use a lot of help. So I am looking for suggestions of resources that could teach me the principles of good composition. I am a top-down kind of guy: give me the principles of a thing, and pretty often I can apply them. But I am not very good at a looking at a photograph and figuring out what makes it work or not.

So, are there any books, websites, videos, or other resources that you think would be useful in learning to compose compelling photographs?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Cheers, Jock

What helped me understand this was not only looking at some of the fine street photography from the forum members here but also watching clips on youtube of street photographers who actually explain what they look for and how they get their shots. Look up Joel Meyerowitz on youtube for example, he's one of my all time favs. I just looked him up to show you some links but there are quite a few, I would just watch them all.

I've enjoyed Don's photos for a couple of years, but after visiting his site and reading his words, I have a great deal more insight.
Just wow. In fact, some of the shots that I previously couldn't care less about were suddenly amazing. Now I gotta get a cup of coffee and watch those videos. Maybe I'll become a street photographer.

Jock, are you looking for assistance in the selecting element(s) to photograph, or help in how to arrange the element(s) you selected into an image which is pleasing/impactful, or both?

Gary