Hello from the very cold PNW

Hello World

I am a well seasoned photographer and fairly new to the compacts. Why compacts? Because it fits my lifestyle. I am not young at 57 but I am very active. I walk everywhere and enjoying motorcycling in the summers. The big DSLRs just don't work for myself as they are too bulky and heavy. I am currently using the EOS M which takes nice images.

One aspect I am different is how I got I to this decades ago, I suspect. I started with underwater photography in the early 70s all over the world with the Nikonos 1.
In College I was a staff photographer doing sports as well as interview photos and similar at San Francisco state.

I reached a plateau about a decade ago. I was not getting any better... It all was just boring; no spark or heart to my images.

I went on the quest I guess everyone goes and tried to "buy my game" with the best equipment I could find. The result was a lot of equipment and slightly better images so I quit.

A few years ago I decided to have a ago again and it was pretty much the same; still boring and uninspired then a friend who is an excellent photographer that's has had his work displayed at the Smithsonian gave me a tip. Simplify.

So , as he suggested for the next 18 months I used only an iphone 4 to now the 5s. It forced me to create shots and it was more fun than I had in decades.

I didn't have to worry a about settings, JPEG vs RAW, lens etc. I was free!
Now moving to add ( not replace the iphone) I am using the EOS M. It gives a bit more latitude but is very simple as well to capture the shot.

What did I learn? Composition is King. In my mind it's everything I had always looked at - shot if not ideal it's something I could fix in the darkroom or later on the computer.

BTW I don't do Photoshop any more. I use Lightroom for the library function mostly... And I shoot JPEG. These I edit on the ipad.