Any 12.9-Inch iPad Pro Users?

Biro

Hall of Famer
Name
Steve
My wife's iPad (actually my original iPad 2) is dying. I've been running an iPad Air 2 since 2015. Best Buy had the new 64gb iPad Pro 12.9-inch model on sale at a $100 discount. So I picked one up for her. I was a bit concerned about the weight, given she has some arthritis. But the weight wasn't a problem. The size was. She feels it's much to big for her. Okay, fine.

I offered to exchange it for either a 10.5-inch iPad Pro or even a base 9.7-inch iPad. She says my current iPad Air 2 (which works fine) would be enough and that I should either keep the 12.9-inch iPad or exchange it for what I want.

So my question is, is anyone here using the 12.9-inch iPad? Any thoughts? How does the size work out in real life?

I currently do all of my photo and digital editing on the my 2012 iMac (which, surprisingly, works fine after five years - thank the i7 chip and 8gb of RAM). The word is that the iPad Pro is now as powerful as Apple's MacBook Pro laptops and that photo editing is now much more feasible, especially with the larger screen real estate.

Of course, that would probably mean swapping the 64gb model for at least the 256gb model. It's funny, my iMac has a full terrabyte of storage. But, even with 10-thousand photos and 8-thousand songs in my iTunes library, I have used up only about 190gb on the hard drive.

I like the idea of a 12.9-inch screen on an iPad... but I can still do my editing on my iMac. Perhaps I should swap out the larger iPad Pro for the 10.5-inch model with more storage - just to have a better iPad - and leave it at that.

Or I could max out an iPad Pro with the 12.9-inch screen for the inevitable day when the iMac goes. Specing a new iMac an i7 chip, 16gb of ram and either a fusion drive or SSD ain't cheap these days. I can't do it for amywhere near the price I did in 2012.

Any input is welcome.

Last edited: