Samsung Upgrading from NX300 to NX500?

dave6376

Regular
I have an NX300 which I like very much and my question is simply whether the NX500 is enough of an advance to justify changing. Ideally I'd like an NX1 but financially it's out of the question. Apart from the lack of an EVF, a non-issue for anyone who uses the NX300, the main criticisms of the NX500 seem to relate to its video capabilities. Since I'm a photographer and not a videographer that doesn't bother me at all. Otherwise it looks as if the NX500 gives you most of what the NX1 offers for about half the money. Any thoughts or comments?

For me, the biggest reason to upgrade is the speed of functioning. The NX300 is very slow in almost every way, from turning it on, to writing to the card, etc. It is just a painfully slow operating camera. Slow enough that it is annoying especially after I put my NX1, or any other camera down, because you get used to a camera operating quickly. Let's not forget that the 500 also has dual control wheels :)
The NX500 is better is every way.

I had and sold the NX300, which I regretted. I am very happy with the NX500 and consider it to be a nice upgrade to the NX300.
I like the ergonomics better, the rear screen, and as Nic said, the second control dial. I usually use aperture priority and find the NX500 quicker than my Fuji's to access my most used controls. AEL is just a finger slide to the right of the shutter button, the main control dial set to aperture, the second control dial set to exposure comp, and the +/- button, just below the second control wheel, to metering, so I can easily choose multi or spot metering.

I don't shoot video.