advice on how to shoot highly reflective items

Luke

Legend
Name
Luke
I am a total fraud.

I pretend to be "an amateur photographer" (which implies knowing something about capturing light) and I sell stuff on eBay (which needs to be photographed so people know what it looks like). I've rested on my laurels in the past by saying "I'm an available light photographer....I don't use flash". And that's fine.....for the kind of photos I like to take for pleasure. But for "product photography", I need to show people "the goods". 3 dimensional stuff isn't as big a problem, but most of what I sell are LPs.....mainly a 2 dimensional image.....and depending on the lighting and the cover....sometimes they seem remarkably like mirrors.

And then I get my worst case scenario..... an LP with a dark cover that is still covered in shrinkwrap.

First, I try a shot with a flash (trying to compensate for the backlighting)......
16281761038_cbb90d80d7_c.jpg
DSC00360 by Luke Lavin, on Flickr

the flash is mainly reflected back at the camera.....not good.

I don't have a pro set-up and I can't tilt the flash up at the ceiling (which I think might work), so I just cover the direct part of the flash with my hand (like the world's most low budget diffuser and get this.......almost like a mirror......

16469447495_0303bb57f8_c.jpg
DSC00362 by Luke Lavin, on Flickr

mmmmmmm......this is when I start wondering if I can't just hire a photographer to shoot the stuff I want to sell (nope....that REALLY cuts in to the budget) . So I try with no flash and this is my best yet, but the shrinkwrap still acts more like a mirror reflecting back an image of me shooting the cover.....

16281755808_b0a421b9ac_c.jpg
DSC00363 by Luke Lavin, on Flickr

I wasn't happy with any of them so I tried an "off-axis" shot where I brought the camera down and angled the LP slightly so I wouldn't have any direct reflections coming back at the camera.

I got this shot.......

15846927244_b9434c0ebb_c.jpg